[CRYOLIST] Call for Webinar Registration: An Overview of MOSAiC - The Multidisciplinary Drifting Observatory for the Study of Arctic Climate

Stacey Stoudt stacey at arcus.org
Fri Aug 31 13:14:38 PDT 2018


The Sea Ice Prediction Network–Phase 2 (SIPN2) announces a call for registration for an open webinar titled An Overview of MOSAiC - The Multidisciplinary Drifting Observatory for the Study of Arctic Climate. The presentation will be given by Don Perovich, Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth College, and will provide an overview of MOSAiC, with special attention on the sea ice program.

This event will be held on Tuesday, 11 September 2018 at:

- 9:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. AKDT,
- 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. PDT,
- 11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. MDT,
- 12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. CDT, and
- 1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. EDT.

Webinar Program:

MOSAiC (Multidisciplinary drifting Observatory for the Study of Arctic Climate) is a large interdisciplinary international program addressing an overarching question of "What are the causes and consequences of an evolving and diminished Arctic sea ice cover?" The centerpiece of MOSAiC is a year-long drift experiment from September 2019 to September 2020. In MOSAiC, models are being used to inform observations and observations will be used to enhance models. MOSAiC is taking an interdisciplinary approach with elements investigating the atmosphere, ice, ocean, ecosystem, and biogeochemistry. Observations will be conducted on three primary scales; the central observatory (5 km), the distributed network (50 km), and the large scale (1000s km). This presentation will give an overview of MOSAiC, with special attention on the sea ice program.

Webinar Speaker:

Don Perovich is a Professor at the Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth College. His research is focused on the geophysics of sea ice, with particular emphasis on electromagnetic, thermodynamic, and morphological properties. A central element of his work is observing and understanding the role of the sea ice albedo feedback in the Arctic climate system.

To register for the webinar, go to:
https://www.arcus.org/sipn/meetings/webinars/register

For further information about SIPN2, go to:
https://www.arcus.org/sipn/overview

For questions, contact:
Betsy Turner-Bogren, ARCUS
Email: betsy at arcus.org


More information about the CRYOLIST mailing list